How to build a patch or a more recent commit

May 4, 2012 at 1:14 PM
Edited May 4, 2012 at 4:41 PM

Sorry, I'm not a programmer....

I have some problem with the current downloadable version of Virtual Router (0.9 beta - build 41272) (i.e. my shared connection changes after a few seconds and I can't have the right one currently selected).

I see that this bug (and others) have been corrected in some of the available patches, and probably on the last commit 56821).

But how can I make a new installer/or executable out of these new commits or patches?

I've just tried installing Microsoft Visual C# 2010 Express and loading the last commit (first time I try to compile a code !! what file must I load as a complet project?). In the loading process I received several error message, however I managed to make an ".exe" of the VirtualRouterClient of the source code and launching it. I can see that my previoulsy reported problem (the automatic change of the shared connection after few seconds) has been solved.

But how can I build a full executable program form that latest commit (with all the exe and dll required and the installation program)?

Or maybe someone can point me to some noob guide... I'm not interested in developing applications and learning C#. I just would like to be able to build an executable for Virtual Router, that is, apparently, the only program that makes my wifi adapter (RTL8187) work as an Access Point...

Thanks for your help.

Luca

May 4, 2012 at 2:35 PM

Well, you managed to create the executable file and it works, making an installer is a different project (but it is included in the solution) however I'm not sure if it will compile under Express editions.

You should see VirtualRouterClient and VirtualRouterInstaller on the Solution explorer (again, I'm not sure all projects from this solution will work on Express editions), but you should be able to select VirtualRouterInstaller and compile it to get the msi created.